FishingTN.com Tennessee's Fishing and Boating Community

Go Back   FishingTN.com Tennessee's Fishing and Boating Community > General Discussion > Sports Lounge - General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Google
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06-18-2012, 07:40 AM
spottedbass's Avatar
spottedbass spottedbass is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hendersonville
Posts: 522
Default Boat Help

My gas gauge is broke. I have a 17 ft. aluminum bass boat with an enclosed gas tank. My gauge has died. It went from always reading 1/4 tank for about a month to now always showing empty. Is there an easy way to fix this?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-18-2012, 09:54 AM
tkwalker's Avatar
tkwalker tkwalker is offline
Owner and Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lebanon, Tennessee
Posts: 2,925
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spottedbass View Post
My gas gauge is broke. I have a 17 ft. aluminum bass boat with an enclosed gas tank. My gauge has died. It went from always reading 1/4 tank for about a month to now always showing empty. Is there an easy way to fix this?
SBass ... Usually the sending unit goes first but to check this just turn your key on and use a volt meter and see if you have a potential accross the gauge (you may need to disconnect from the gause, it may depend how yours is configured) ....In most cases the sending unit uses a varriable resistor (some use LVDT's) that moves up and down with the fuel level this varies the potential (voltage) ... Th easiest way is just replace the gauge with a used or new one ... They aren't that $$$.... If this does not fix it ....

The sending unit in the tank can be removed fairly easy if you have access ... It is the round device that has a couple of wires going to it ... Hope this helps .... <'TK><
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-18-2012, 12:57 PM
spottedbass's Avatar
spottedbass spottedbass is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hendersonville
Posts: 522
Default

Thanks. I'll check it out.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2014, 06:43 PM
spottedbass's Avatar
spottedbass spottedbass is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hendersonville
Posts: 522
Default

TK, I finally got around to replacing the fuel gauge. It still does not work. I do have access to the tank and I can get to the sending unit very easily. Does it matter what size tank you have for the sending unit? I can't seem to find a "sending unit" at Bass Pro. Where should I look or should it be called something else?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2014, 08:18 PM
tkwalker's Avatar
tkwalker tkwalker is offline
Owner and Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lebanon, Tennessee
Posts: 2,925
Thumbs up Give me more info ... <'TK><

Quote:
Originally Posted by spottedbass View Post
TK, I finally got around to replacing the fuel gauge. It still does not work. I do have access to the tank and I can get to the sending unit very easily. Does it matter what size tank you have for the sending unit? I can't seem to find a "sending unit" at Bass Pro. Where should I look or should it be called something else?

Thanks.
What size tank to you have ?? usually the sending unit are all pretty much the same ... Depending on the Gallons capacity and configuration ... The float arm is the primary element here ... Pull the sending unit and measure the length of the float arm ... Some are a arm and some are a vertical screw type ... I am pretty sure I can find what you need .... <'TK><
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2014, 08:56 PM
spottedbass's Avatar
spottedbass spottedbass is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hendersonville
Posts: 522
Default

I am no "do-it-yourself" person but I did pull out the sending unit. I was able to find one on Amazon just like the one that I have now. I believe I am set. When the new one gets here, I'll give it a shot.

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-08-2014, 06:23 AM
Halli's Avatar
Halli Halli is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Hermitage
Posts: 899
Default

Go to a truck parts store like TruckPro.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-08-2014, 11:32 AM
pitbull pitbull is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 77
Default

Check the gauge for what Ohm sending unit it needs as well, it should say something like 0-90 ohms or something like that, unless there is a marine standard I'm not aware of?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Site best viewed at 1280X1024
FishingTN.com