PDA

View Full Version : How to catch catfish

creekcrappie
09-05-2013, 09:21 PM
Ever since I caught a catfish on a cricket Saturday, I have been trying to catch a catfish. Since I have never tried to catch a catfish before tips would be appreciated. First off, where should I start? I am just looking to catch a few to take home to eat. What is good bait to use? How do I keep chicken liver from falling off every time I try to cast? When do I set the hook on the catfish? Thanks

Trealtree
09-05-2013, 10:06 PM
I usually use chicken liver or dead shad. I understand where your coming from when you say "falling off the hook" some people might say to take some pantyhose and cut it into little sections then tie the chicken liver in it then put it on your hook. But my buddy showed me how to take sewing string and tie the liver onto your hook (I mostly use that) it helps from the smaller fish from taking your bait most of the time. And as far as catfish bite goes I can definitely tell when it's a catfish or a different fish just from the way the rod bends. Usually when a catfish bites your rod tip will go down instead of a quick motion I guess.

hogdawg
09-06-2013, 04:39 AM
Chicken liver is an awesome catfish bait. I have found that if you can not use the whole piece, use a very sharp knife to cut it. If you tear it, it will fall apart really bad. When you cast try hard to lob it out and not cast real hard. Always put out a bigger rod with a small bluegill as bait. Flatheads and larger catfish love them.

Halli
09-06-2013, 06:05 AM
Use worms,minnows or a small thumb nail size of shrimp and just fish where the brim are.
I would say cats are all over the shallow areas so you don't have to throw way out.

For me I would get irritated when using minnows under a float near the bank as I would always catch a cat when I was after Bass or Crappie.

bfish
09-06-2013, 09:38 AM
Gizzards stay on the hook better than liver, but any pieces of chicken meat will work, as will shrimp.