FishingTN.com Tennessee's Fishing and Boating Community

FishingTN.com Tennessee's Fishing and Boating Community (http://www.fishingtn.com/index.php)
-   Fishing Gear (http://www.fishingtn.com/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Cracked keel and interior ribs (aluminum) (http://www.fishingtn.com/showthread.php?t=9821)

Powerpro603 12-14-2014 04:15 PM

Cracked keel and interior ribs (aluminum)

I'm new here so I hope I posted this in the correct place.

I have a 1960 Feathercraft 14' Jon boat that has a crack in two interior ribs as well as the keel on the bottom in the same spot. I am a pretty good steel welder, Mig and Arc. I thought I'd take a shot at brazing (Oxygen / Acetylene) these ribs and keel, but every time it cools and I get in the boat (while trailered), the ribs crack right in the weld. I'm starting to think that brazing with an aluminum rod is not the answer due to strength of the weld material. Weld sticks on both sides, but it cracks right down the original break.

NEED HELP!!!

Pookie 12-14-2014 06:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Powerpro603 (Post 59740)
I'm new here so I hope I posted this in the correct place.

I have a 1960 Feathercraft 14' Jon boat that has a crack in two interior ribs as well as the keel on the bottom in the same spot. I am a pretty good steel welder, Mig and Arc. I thought I'd take a shot at brazing (Oxygen / Acetylene) these ribs and keel, but every time it cools and I get in the boat (while trailered), the ribs crack right in the weld. I'm starting to think that brazing with an aluminum rod is not the answer due to strength of the weld material. Weld sticks on both sides, but it cracks right down the original break.

NEED HELP!!!

Before you screw it up any worse, have a competent tig welder repair your boat. You can thank me later.

tkwalker 12-15-2014 12:14 AM

Yep ...<'TK><

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pookie (Post 59742)