PDA

View Full Version : AutoChart

nailman_83
12-04-2014, 02:33 PM
I told someone on here, I think Alpha, that I will let them know what I thought about AutoChart. I've been making maps for about 6 months now and it's taken a lot of time (both on the water and behind the computer), but it has been worth it.

I have a Navionics card and it has been great and I still continue to use it in areas I haven't mapped, but the AutoChart map I've made has much more detail. Below is a comparison I've put together between Navionics, Navionics SonarCharts, and AutoChart from a few points I've mapped.

http://i827.photobucket.com/albums/zz192/nailman_83/SidebySide.jpg

I've fished the point on top, but never fished the bottom point much because it doesn't look as good on the Navionics as what I mapped.

The only thing I wish you could do if overlay the two. I have a 998 and I believe you can do this on the ONIX which I will be getting. In most cases there isn't much difference in the maps, but I have found spots on my map that aren't on the Navionics and I have caught a ton of fish of them.

The last thing I will say is the program is not easy to use. I think I've gotten it down, but you have to fix false readings and areas you've lost GPS signal. It has been worth the money though.

MNfisher
12-04-2014, 08:51 PM
So you made the autochart map? This is pretty neat!

Mike

Alphahawk
12-04-2014, 09:11 PM
Thanks for the feedback. All the reviews I have read talk about how good the maps are but that the program is difficult to use.

Regards

Jim
12-05-2014, 01:05 AM
Cool map. I do a bunch of hydrographic surveying and mapping for my job. I have never used Autochart, but it looks like the results you are getting are very good.

Good luck on mapping some new honey holes!

Jim

Reel Tune
12-05-2014, 03:06 AM
Nice work.

TNtroller
12-05-2014, 05:56 AM
Nailman;