PDA

View Full Version : New here, heading out in the morning

timothy.collins92
09-28-2014, 10:35 PM
Hey I just got approved today, I am a rookie for sure, only been fishing since the spring and then only off and on as work allows. I am 22, didn't have much chance to fish growing up and looking to make up for lost time.

I am planning on fishing in the morning, I am on the south side if Murfreesboro and enjoy going to the duck river, haven't had a ton of luck so far so trying to learn as much as I can. Would also like the chance to catch some bigger stuff, but I don't have a boat.

Are there decent places to fish off the shore around normandy lake? I have been going to three forks bridge and it is nice but do want the chance at bigger fish that the lake provides. Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

Timothy

Fishaholic
09-28-2014, 10:39 PM
Welcome! I don;t fish down that way but I'm sure there are a lot of guys here that do and would be hapy to give you some pointers. I'd talk to the local tackle shop for sure and see what they say for starters.

Reel Tune
09-29-2014, 12:09 AM
Welcome to FishingTN, sorry I cannot help you with that area. I think Alphahawk is familiar with the area you are looking at. The Stones River does hold some good fish.

gmedlin
09-29-2014, 09:10 AM
In a couple of months I will be fishing the Duck below Courtner's Mill. I have enjoyed catching lots of stocked trout there as well as a variety of other fish. I also like to fish below the dam and normally wade in both places.

Not familiar with Normandy but I do fish Tim's Ford a good bit and notice folks bank fishing below the bridge near the state park. I also live in M'boro but mainly fish PP. Lots of good bank fishing on PP near Stewart's Creek boat ramp as well as the rock bluff near the Weakley Lane bridge.

Getting ready to hook up the boat and head to PP today and hope to find some crappie.

bates19
09-29-2014, 10:40 AM