PDA

View Full Version : Braided Line Basics.....

dennyboy
09-03-2014, 10:36 AM
Greetings everyone. I became a member of this forum a couple of years ago while living in NV. I'm new to TN and new to bass fishing. I've been using 4 lb to 8 lb test monofiliment most of my life.

I have a couple of questions about braided line. I found out what I could by checking old posts. For example good braid to mono knots are the Uni-to-Uni & Albright, and that some people use a swivel connection rather than tie a knot line-to-line. A good brand of braid is supposed to be Powerpro. You can use braid on a spinning reel. Here are some things I did not find.......

1. If using 30 lb braid, what pound test should the mono leader be?

2. Is a leader necessary? I know opinions might vary, but does tying the braid right to the lure or worm-hook get equal results, or should a leader always used?

3. Any opinions, for or against, other brands of braid besides powerpro?

4. I found one comment that said "8# braid is strength rated at 40#". I don't get it.... What will it say on the package?

Thanks in advance

jad2t
09-03-2014, 11:49 AM
1] You generally want to match diameter when tying braid to a mono or flouro leader for ease of knot tying.

2] Depends on what you're fishing for and where. Frog fishing in the thick stuff, absolutely no leader. Tie braid to the frog. Finesse worm fishing, yes you should use a leader. Mono will work but flouro is better. This reduces line visibility. If fishing in dirty water you don't have to worry but if you hit relatively clear water like JPP, use the flouro.

3] I've used spiderwire and BPS braid and I like them both.

4] Not sure about that. 40# braid is 40# braid. The advantage is that 40# braid is a lot thinner than 40# mono or flouro so you can get more on your spool and it will cast farther.