PDA

View Full Version : Gun Hearing tomorrow ... <"TK><


tkwalker
03-20-2013, 01:10 AM
Tennessee: School Safety Bill to be Heard Tomorrow



Please call AND e-mail members of the Senate Education Committee TODAY!

Tomorrow at 3:30 pm, the state Senate Education Committee will hear Senate Bill 570. This legislation, as introduced, would allow K-12 school personnel to possess a firearm on school property if the person; has a handgun carry permit, is authorized by the school superintendent, has had 40 hours of basic school policing and uses frangible bullets.


Teachers are entrusted with the education and care of our children every day and should be allowed to protect them in every possible manner. SB 570 would give our education professionals, who choose to do so, the ability to defend themselves and those they teach from unforeseeable threats in the future. We trust our teachers with the lives of our children when we arenít there. We should also trust them to protect our children with the most effective means possible.


The companion bill to SB 570, House Bill 6, is sponsored by Representative Eric Watson (R-22) and has been referred to the state House Civil Justice Subcommittee. House Bill 6 has not been scheduled yet for a hearing, but your NRA-ILA will keep you updated as information becomes available.


Please call AND e-mail members of the Senate Education Committee and urge them to support Senate Bill 570.



Senate Education Committee:



Senator Dolores Gresham (Chairman)

(615) 741-2368

Sen.dolores.gresham@capitol.tn.gov



Senator Reginald Tate (1st Vice-Chairman)

(615) 741-2509

Sen.reginald.tate@capitol.tn.gov



Senator Steven Dickerson (2nd Vice-Chairman)

(615) 741-6679

Sen.steven.dickerson@capitol.tn.gov



Senator Charlotte Burks

(615) 741-3978

Sen.charlotte.burks@capitol.tn.gov



Senator Stacey Campfield

(615) 741-1766

Sen.stacey.campfield@capitol.tn.gov



Senator Rusty Crowe

(615) 741-2468

Sen.rusty.crowe@capitol.tn.gov



Senator Todd Gardenhire

(615) 741-6682

Sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov



Senator Joey Hensley

(615) 741-3100

Sen.joey.hensley@capitol.tn.gov



Senator Brian Kelsey

(615) 741-3036

Sen.stacey.campfield@capitol.tn.gov