PDA

View Full Version : Choosing a Sonar Unit

Reel Tune
02-16-2012, 12:23 PM
Choosing a Sonar Unit

I’ve been using Humminbird for the past 2 years my previous unit was a 383C. It was a good unit, did what I needed it to do, and was a good tool to learn on. We’ll I sold this unit only because I had a buddy that needed one so made him a deal, and he jumped on it. I also wanted a reason to buy a little nicer unit.

We’ll I’ve been without a unit for over a month now, and feel naked on the water. I can no longer see any structure, or baitfish below the surface unless I’m in very shallow waters or crystal clear waters.

I think I’m going to go with Lowrance this time and know I want a larger screen than the 383, I know I want GPS, color screen, and card acceptable. I’ve herd the maps on the Lowrance, detail, and clarity were better than the competitors.

I fish all kinds of waters from large to small lakes to the Gulf, and intercostal waters, big rivers, small rivers, basically any kind of water or species I’ll target it.

I’m debating on the Lowrance HDS 5 or 7 Gen 2. The 7 would be because of the larger screen and possibly more detail, or easier to read. I wouldn’t be utilizing the StructureScan module, the antenna, or the Radar, but I would be using some maps like the Fishing Hot Spots Pro, Navionics, and I know they have INSIGHT HD, and INSIGHT PRO, but don’t know much about them. The Elite 5 DSI's don't look like a bad unit either for about 1/2 the price.

If anyone could give me their honest opinions about these units especially if you have hands on experience with them that would be greatly appreciated. If anyone has these units in the area I would be willing to pay for gas, food, and drinks for the day for some hands on experience.

I do plan to go to BPS and get more hands on, but it is much different using simulator mode, and actually using it on the water.

Thanks, Jeremy

Travis C.
02-16-2012, 04:00 PM