PDA

View Full Version : OHD sauger/walleye

txnative
11-18-2011, 07:41 AM
Does anyone have any reports of sauger/walleye moving up below OH Dam or Cordell hull yet? Thanks.

Chris

whrizob
11-20-2011, 11:33 AM
I know this doesn't answer your question, bc I haven't tried. But we usually don't start fishing for them till middle of dec with our best results in jan? I would think it is a little early for them. But that's just from experience, and I'm no suager expert at all.

TNtransplant08
11-20-2011, 12:10 PM
I went bank fishing there on Friday. I've been craving them for the pan so I thought is see if they were there. I arrived just after sun up and they had three generators going, including two closest to the bank. Unfortunately, I pretty much got skunked. All I managed to catch was three skipjacks and I fished until 11:00. I was surprised. I thought with the increased flow, the fish would be more active.

thehick176
11-20-2011, 01:23 PM
Fish there Saturday from sunrise to around noon. Pretty slow considering they had 3 generators pushing around 19,000 cfs. Little more than what i prefer but we did catch some decent largemouth and spots. We finished up trolling bandit 300's for sauger and had one on before it came unbuttoned halfway to the boat. Also, didnt see many shad or skipjack at all. No bait=no fish right?
As far as what time of year is best for sauger/walleye, below OHD i have caught them as early as August and as late as April. I guess it's all in how much time you want to put into fishing for them.

Travis C.
11-20-2011, 03:07 PM
I know this doesn't answer your question, bc I haven't tried. But we usually don't start fishing for them till middle of dec with our best results in jan? I would think it is a little early for them. But that's just from experience, and I'm no suager expert at all.

You finally getting tired of hunting and started pokin around the fishing forum again? :D

TNtransplant08
11-22-2011, 07:54 PM