PDA

View Full Version : Crappie fishing

TNRACER93
09-22-2011, 09:10 PM
Im a newbie at crappie fishing have always fished for bass. Anyone here willing to take a new guy out and show me the ropes on how to catch me some crappie? pm me if so can take my boat or yours..

Alphahawk
09-22-2011, 09:45 PM
Im a newbie at crappie fishing have always fished for bass. Anyone here willing to take a new guy out and show me the ropes on how to catch me some crappie? pm me if so can take my boat or yours..

I don't know where you live but on October 15th I start my Crappie fishing from the bank next to Pickwick Dam....it all depends on water temp. Where I fish boats do not usually come in there...too many bank fishermen around. The Crappie move in there by the thousands and they are big...mostly you catch 13 and 14 inch Crappie...quite a few going the 14 and 15 inch mark. If no one else takes you, and you want to see how it is done, you are more than welcome to meet me there. It is an awesome fishery.

Regards

TNRACER93
09-22-2011, 10:00 PM
Im in nashville sounds good i wouldnt mind going, but i also want to learn how to catch them and techniques from a boat as well..

Travis C.
09-23-2011, 07:02 AM
Which lake do you normally fish?

I fish for them on Old Hickory but have some places on Percy that we caught them as well.

Casting with a float, vertically jigging, trolling and strolling are some of my favorite ways to catch them. Right now you can really slay them trolling small crankbaits along creek channel drops where you find baitfish schooled up.Strolling can be a killer too this time of year. Its simply a slower version of trolling by using a trolling motor and pauses so that it don't run constantly. You'll have one rod out in hand on channel slope vertically jigging as you follow the contour of the drop.