PDA

View Full Version : New to TN lakes

Foundationman 1
09-13-2011, 08:25 AM
I moved to TN in 2000, I am orginaly from TX, I held a guide license for Lake Livingston, Toledo Bend, Sam Rayburn, Lake Fork, and Falcon Lake.
I am fairly new to small mouth bass fishing as well as Walleye/Sauger.
my question is what do the small mouth bite on here as well as what are the stripers hitting on?
I have had GREAT luck with large mouth bass in TN, but have yet to land a small mouth or striper.
any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Scott715
09-13-2011, 09:02 AM
There are some great striper guys on this forum who I'm sure will give you some advice on catching them. I have caught some big ones on percy priest during late April on topwater (when they're in pre-spawn and chasing bait shallow). My favorite lures are the super spook (bone/white color), top dawg, and cordell redfin. Many striper fishermen I talk to do very well down rigging with live bait. These next few months can likely produce some good fish as the temps get cooler and oxygen builds up.

I haven't caught a ton of smallmouth on JPP, but those I have caught were on crawfish-style baits (crankbait & plastic). I know jigs are commonly used on area lakes for the smallies as well. I'm not big on the smallmouth, but I'm sure others can chime in.

txnative
09-13-2011, 09:11 AM
Welcome to tn. I'm from west tx, and moved here in '98 and immediately fell in love with tn due to the abundance of fishing opportunities.