PDA

View Full Version : trout

MNfisher
07-17-2011, 12:18 PM
I am new to the state and have never fished trout. I caught this on the caney fork on Saturday and It didn't look like the other rainbows i caught, since there was no pink stripe whatsoever. It was just a silver fish with black spots. What kind of trout is this? I took a quick pic and then slid her back in the water.

Dub J
07-17-2011, 01:53 PM
Correct me if Im wrong but that is a Speckled Trout, I caught some of those when I was in Louisianna fishing for redfish. Fun to catch.....they LOVE shrimp!!!!:D

Travis C.
07-17-2011, 03:25 PM
It's a brown trout.

The Caney has Rainbows, Browns and Brook Trout.

MNfisher
07-17-2011, 07:45 PM
Aren't speckled trout a saltwater fish?? I thought it may be a brown trout, but the pic of others i see are very colorful with brown, yellow and orange.

tkwalker
07-17-2011, 10:18 PM
I am new to the state and have never fished trout. I caught this on the caney fork on Saturday and It didn't look like the other rainbows i caught, since there was no pink stripe whatsoever. It was just a silver fish with black spots. What kind of trout is this? I took a quick pic and then slid her back in the water.

That is a Brown Trout .... <'TK><

jad2t
07-17-2011, 11:31 PM
Yes speckled trout are also known as sea trout and are a saltwater fish. I used to tear those bastards up when I was still living in south Florida. What you have is a brown trout for sure. Just FYI if you ever want to take one home to eat, those have to be 24" to keep.

bd-
07-18-2011, 02:46 PM
I thought it may be a brown trout, but the pic of others i see are very colorful with brown, yellow and orange.