PDA

View Full Version : Okaloosa Island fishing pier

Dakota
03-31-2017, 06:02 PM
Down in Destin for my girls cheer competition but of course had to grab a fishing rod. Went a little bit this afternoon, some Spanish mackerel being caught. I Caught a few which I've never done before only a 12 inch length limit. Used a lure called got-cha with a wire liter that the Guy selling bait their recommended. Always enjoy catching something I've never caught before. They fight like a skipjack.

FishAddict
03-31-2017, 09:18 PM
They can be fun to catch, and not bad on the plate, just trim off the red meat, and the extra row of bones that run from the spine out. Gotcha's work great for them. Note that that 12" is a fork length limit, not an overall length limit. A 12" fork length spanish is still pretty small.

spottedbass
04-01-2017, 07:07 AM
Swap that wire leader out with a 50 lb. mono leader and you will get more bites. Just check your leader often for chewed up spots.

Dakota
04-01-2017, 12:26 PM
Good point fellas. Yes I did learn that it is the fork of the tail. It's amazing if you ask the locals they know and most will tell you. Also I had a local guy fishing beside me with the heavy monofilament leader and he was getting a few more bites than me and Did re tie several times. Just fried up Spanish mackerel great tasting fish. My girls really really liked it. They said it was the best thing they've had since We've been down here. I think The limit is six, next time if I get into Them i would keep all six because the taste is so great.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Topwater1
04-01-2017, 05:09 PM
White buck tails jigs that some people call "looney jigs" (I think that's just where I fish though) and bubble rigs work well for Spanish. My favorite saltwater fish is catching flounder by slowly dragging a bull minnow on a Carolina rig on the bottom.

Buccaneer
04-01-2017, 06:55 PM