PDA

View Full Version : Fly Fishermen: Mending Question

Pinwheeled
07-26-2016, 12:40 PM
I'm still fairly new to fly fishing but I'm starting to get the hang of it. My casting has gotten a lot better and I'm finally starting to catch a few using it. My problem is when I need to mend line. I've been mainly nymphing and I have a heck of a time mending without moving my strike indicator. I've had the best luck with an overhand mend but still not great. Anything else I try and I end up moving the indicator a lot.

Is this more likely a problem with my technique or maybe just crappy fly line? My line came pre-spooled and is only about $20 when bought separately. I'm using a 9' 5wt if that makes a difference. Ive also used about every type of indicator with similar results.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bradfordw
07-26-2016, 12:52 PM
Fly line has some impact on it; the Orvis Hydros Easy Mend for example picks up really nice off the water (that's largely what I use).

Anyway, regarding the technique, practice in a grassy area and work on flipping the rod tip almost like you were flipping a pancake. It's a short, methodical flip of the wrist. once you get the small ones down, increasing the effort in the flip will result in a larger mend.

Also, if you checkout the Orvis fly fishing website look for Pete Kutzer's videos on techniques, I'm sure he has one in there on mending.

Cheap answer: practice with the line you have (you'll get it).
Slightly more expensive: you still have to practice, but with a line that picks up off the water easier due to the dimpling in the line itself.

Hope that helps,
BW

Pinwheeled
07-26-2016, 04:51 PM
Thank you, BW 👍

Those Pete Kutzer videos are great. I think I have watched all of them 4 or 5 times but I definitely need to check out the mending episode again.

bfish
07-26-2016, 07:18 PM