PDA

View Full Version : Trolling for Crappie on Old Hickory Lake

OldHickory
07-05-2016, 09:22 PM
Is anyone having any luck trolling for crappie on OHL? I went this weekend and trolled Bandits in Drakes Creek but only caught a few small catfish. I'm just learning this technique and obviously struggling at this point. Any guidance is appreciated! Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OldHickory
07-07-2016, 05:23 PM
I'm needing help from some of you experienced crankbait trollers. I was trolling an "S" pattern along the main creek channel ledges...and I would also occasionally swing in a little on the flats from the creek channel ledge. Is this the correct technique?...it only produced a few catfish and no crappie. Or should I be trolling out in the middle of the actual creek channel? At this point, I don't know if I just had a slow non-productive day or if I was not using the correct trolling technique? I welcome any guidance and suggestions. Thanks!

luckystratos
07-07-2016, 05:31 PM
Wish I could help. That is something I have always wanted to do. Just never took time to try. I know crappie USA guys sure like drakes creek but that's little earlier in the year

Texas_Rig
07-07-2016, 06:14 PM
I haven't been fishing creeks much lately for bass, but I have seen crappie on my downscan along the main river channel drop offs. They have been in about 20-30 fow.

unkangler
07-14-2016, 06:22 PM
Is anyone having any luck trolling for crappie on OHL? I went this weekend and trolled Bandits in Drakes Creek but only caught a few small catfish. I'm just learning this technique and obviously struggling at this point. Any guidance is appreciated! Thanks!

Trolling like most other technique's can have a lot of variables involved.
I'll give you one Tip on my way of doin' it.